Blissful Belle

Be Happy, Feel Beautiful

Dear 65-Year-Old Me: Ariana Philips


Dear 65-year-old-me will feature BB writers’ and readers’ personal letters to their younger selves. If you’re interested in having your letter published on Blissful Belle, send us an email to infoblissfulbelle@gmail.co​m.

Dear 65-year-old me,

Damn you’re old! But clearly you have managed to do something right to still be alive and kicking. Hopefully, you’re reading this in your gorgeous penthouse apartment on the Upper East Side, reminiscing about your fabulous younger self.  And you are probably thinking, wow I haven’t changed much!

Anyway, all that work and energy you put into getting internships and jobs will surely have paid off. I hope that you have become a household name in the publishing industry, from owning your own magazine, a media company, and even literary agency! I know you’ve accomplished all of this because I have extremely high expectations of you, and of myself.  And I know you have met every single goal you’ve made because of your determination and drive. But I hope in between all that work you have some time to play, traveling the world and visiting exotic places and meeting fabulous people.

And I hope that between all that work and play, you have managed to spend quality time with your family and friends. While you may not seem sentimental, those memories of holidays, vacations, and simply just hanging out will always be treasured.  I almost guarantee you are still best friends with everyone, maybe a few new faces have been added to the group. But I’m sure you all still meet at your house, having cocktails and long conversations every weekend; but this time you have a view and more room! And I hope on the way you managed to figure out who was truly worth your time and energy and hopefully got rid of the rest.  And I’m sure everyone who ever doubted you is looking at you green with envy on how far you’ve come in life, from your amazing career, loyal friendships, and loving family.

Also, I know that relationships and romance were never your cup of tea and the thought of having children absolutely terrified you, so I really can’t imagine what type of family you have. But I do hope whoever you’re with has the patience of a god because he will definitely need it!  And that he treats you the way you’ve always expected to be treated, with humor, honesty, and passion.  Also, if you did end up having kids I hope that they are doctors, lawyers, or the next president of the United States!

But most importantly, I hope you have lived! I hope you have no regrets and you have lived your life to the absolute fullest because you only get one chance to not screw it up!

Love,

Ariana

You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough. – Mae West


Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 12, 2011 by in Bliss, Happy Belle and tagged , .
