Blissful Belle

Be Happy, Feel Beautiful

Wise Words: Beauty Lessons Your Mom Taught You that Actually Make Sense


My mother, and I’m sure a lot of yours, used to always give pithy pearls of beauty wisdom to me while I was growing up. You may have ignored some of them, but the leading ladies in our lives were definitely on to something. Enjoy below as I’ve shared some of the best advice that my mom gave me!

 

1. Use vaseline for everything. “Vaseline is the world’s best kept secret.” It seriously is a cure all. It can be used as a moisturizer, primer, lip-gloss, eye-awakener, etc. Vaseline might actually be the cure to all beauty ills.

 

2. “Always wear sunscreen.” Everywhere. Period. Even on your arms when you’re wearing long sleeves. It prevents lasting damage and disease to your skin. Don’t take risks. Don’t go tanning or put a ton of chemicals on your skin. Just keep your skin clear and healthy and that’s enough.

 

3. Take your vitamins, exercise, and maintain a healthy diet. “When you feel good, you look good, and everyone notices.” My mom is a doctor and let me tell you, I have had many lectures about how everything is related to everything else in your body. You’ll be surprised at how good you’ll feel and how great you look when you just cut one bad thing out of your day and add one good thing. Take care of yourself.

 

4. Use natural, home-made facial treatments. “Know what you put on your face.” My mom used to tell me to use milk as a natural toner and make avocado and oatmeal face masks. Even today, they always give me the best results of any treatment, even the ones I’ve paid for at spas.

 

5. Keep your skin clean. Wash your hands and face a few times a day. “Germs are everywhere.” Stay healthy, stay clean.

 

6. Paint your nails and lips a bold color. “Red just makes people want to look at you.” It’s true. Bright colors not only give you a boost of confidence, but make you appear more confident to others. Confidence is always sexy. What’s sexier is a girl who knows what she’s got so own those bold shades?

 

7. Always wear mascara. “The eyes are the windows to the soul.” Frame them. Mascara makes you look awake and does a lot for your whole face without a lot of maintenance.

 

8. Spritz some rosewater on your face before you leave the house. I’ve been doing this for as long as I can remember and I can honestly say that it makes everything come together in such an amazing way. I swear that rosewater is magic. “It’s just that last touch to let it all set.”

 

9. Mix products together. “If it’s not at the counter, make it yourself.” Your skin isn’t static so don’t put yourself on a color spectrum. In fact, your skin gets darker in the summer and lightens up in the winter so you should always have at least two shades available at all times. Get two colors or mix a darker summer foundation with a little bit of moisturizer or sunscreen in the winter to lighten up.

 

10. “Don’t fake your nails or anything else.” I had a horrible experience with acrylic nails a few birthdays ago. Believe me, just work with what you’ve got. Keep your nails trimmed and use hardening solutions like Sally Hansen’s Hard as Nails to aid growth. Go in for a regular old mani-pedi when you want something fun. I think this probably relates to plastic surgery, too, so don’t try any of that either.

 

11. Take care of your hair. “A girl’s hair is her crowning glory.” My parents are Indian and Indians are known for having AWESOME hair. Unfortunately, all through middle school and early high school, my heating products and I were involved in a very unhealthy relationship. Fortunately, however, coconut milk, a great hair cut, and some willpower saved my hair. Now, I just blow dry it pretty quickly on low heat and it looks really good. Just remember that when it comes to hair, less is more.

About Mallika Dhaliwal

Mallika Dhaliwal is a freshman at the University of Southern California who hopes to major in the scope of human knowledge since she can't seem to make her mind up about which discipline she loves the most. She knows, however, that she loves fashion, people, stories, and a variety of fine and performing arts, and wants to visit every continent before she turns 35. Mallika enjoys old movies, classic novels, dressing up, tea parties, indie music, European and art history, theater-going, and especially traveling.

One comment on “Wise Words: Beauty Lessons Your Mom Taught You that Actually Make Sense

  1. sheerglitz
    November 16, 2011

    Vair cute!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 16, 2011 by in Beauty and tagged , , , , , , , .
